India vs New Zealand 2020 – Kiwis announce T20I Squad, Williamson return back, Hamish Bennett surprise call

For the upcoming five-match T20I series New Zealand selection panel announced 14 members squad to play against India. The series is going to start on January 24. There was a surprise call for pacer Hamish Bennett, benefited from his impressive performances in Super Smash T20 League which were on going. He had taken 14 wickets in this league overall 10 matches at an average of 7.06. After a hip injury, Kane Williamson ruled out of T20I series against England and now he is back as captain for the T20I Squad.

As per Gavin Larsen New Zealand chief, Bennett was called as most of the players from national side were missing the game and the keeping this injury crisis. He played one test match and 16 ODIs for New Zealand. Trent Bolt, Seth Rance, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry due to thumb injury, Doug Bracewell due to knee injury, Will Young due to shoulder injury, Matt Henry due to thumb injury, Adam Milne due to ankle injury, Tom Latham due to finger injury, Seth Rance due to Achilles tendon were out of the match. Larsen explained how important is Bennett for the match against India praising this all rounder bowling prowess.

“We are so glad to have Hamish return in the series which will be a huge one against India.”

“His consistency over the past few years been one of the best and made his top domestic white ball bowlers. We all are impressed by seeing his evolvement towards his game. Though we know his pace and bouncing skills but his clever variations made him  as a well rounded T20 Bowler.

Spin bowling pair will be Ish Sodhi and Mitchell Santner while fast bowling team contains Tim Southee, Scott Kuggeleijn, Blair Tickner along with Hamish Bennett. For the last two T2Is New Zealand A captain Tom Bruce will be joining the squad and Colin de Grandhomme will be in the place of Jimmy Neesham as he failed to be in the squad.

Larsen stated that there are huge assignments were near to the senior side but our main focus will be only on T20 World Cup in Australia this year.

“ We’re so much aware of the coming challenges and the next coming weeks will be definitely severe for our elite male cricketers. We clearly made a plan and strongly wanting to win the series considering our wide T20 World Cup campaign plan.”

New Zealand T20I Players List

Kane Williamson (c), Hamish Bennett, Martin Guptill, Scott Kuggeleijn, Daryl Mitchell, Colin Munro, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Blair Tickner, Tom Bruce for 4 to5 matches, Colin de Grandhomme for 1-3 matches.