World Cricket News

IPL teams and groups 2022 format: Two groups of five, each team still plays 14 league games

IPL teams and groups 2022 format: The 2022 Indian Premier League (IPL) will see a tweak in format as 10 teams will be divided into groups of five but each team will play 14 league matches in a peculiar way.

As per groupings released by BCCI on Friday, group A comprises Mumbai Indians, KKR, Rajasthan Royals, Delhi Capitals and Lucknow Supergiants.

The group B will have Chennai Super Kings, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Royal Challengers Bengaluru, Punjab Kings and Gujarat Titans.

Over the years, the IPL teams has been an eight-team affair where each team played each other twice at the round robin league stage to complete 14 games.

However this group league format is not new in IPL as it was once used a decade back when Pune Warriors and Kochi Tuskers Kerala were part of the league.

The 10 teams will play a total of 14 league matches (7 home matches and 7 away matches) totalling to 70 league matches, followed by the 4 playoff matches. Each team will play 5 teams twice and the remaining 4 teams only once (2 only home and 2 only away).

IPL teams and groups

IPL teams and groups 2022 format: Two groups of five, each team still plays 14 league games

People Also Search For: Ban vs Afg 2022: Liton, Rahim ease Bangladesh to 2-0 lead

The rows and columns of the groups (A and B) has been done as per IPL performances – number of titles and number of finals reached.

Firstly, the groupings have been done as per IPL performance where group A has MI (Team 1) with five titles as first team. Correspondingly, in group B, the first team is CSK (IPL teams 2) which has four titles.

Team 3 is again placed in group A and that is KKR with two titles and the corresponding Team 4 placed in group B is SRH with a sole title.

Team 5 again in group A is Rajasthan Royals (1 title) and its corresponding Team 6 in group B is RCB, which has played three finals.

Team 7 in group A is Delhi Capitals, which has one final appearance and two play-offs while corresponding Team 8 in group B is Punjab Kings with one final appearance.

Newcomers, Lucknow Super Giants is Team 9 in group A and Gujarat Titans is corresponding team 10 in group B.

14 league matches

Each team will play twice against the teams in their group and against the team in the same row in the other group. Against the remaining four teams in the other group, each team will play only once.

For example, KKR will play twice in the league stages against MI, RR, DC, LSG and SRH (the team in the same row in the other group). KKR will play only once against CSK, RCB, PBKS and GT.

The format is similar to that used for the 2011 edition, when IPL had two new teams in Pune Warriors India and Kochi Tuskers Kerala.

The BCCI also confirmed a Cricbuzz report from yesterday that the IPL will kick off on March 26 and wrap up on May 29, with 70 league matches set to be played across four venues in Mumbai and Pune.

Each team will play 4 matches each at Wankhede Stadium and DY Patil Stadium, and 3 matches each at Brabourne Stadium (CCI) and MCA International Stadium, Pune.

“The 15th edition of the Indian Premier League will be played in a bio-secure environment at a single hub to avoid air travel which is considered as a major threat for the spread of COVID-19 infection, thereby affecting the players and the League/matches,” the BCCI explained.

The venue for the playoff matches will be decided later, as IPL Chairman Brijesh Patel had confirmed to Cricbuzz earlier.

VenueNumber of Matches
Mumbai – Wankhede Stadium20 Matches
Mumbai – Brabourne Stadium (CCI)15 Matches
Mumbai – DY Patil Stadium20 Matches
Pune – MCA International Stadium15 Matches
Become a Trendsetter

Sign up for TotalCric’s Daily Digest and get the best of Cricket News, tailored for you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *